I called Ed a few weeks ago to break the news that Kevin, (let’s just call him my husband) and I would not be in the area on Easter morning.  It is tradition that we have Easter brunch together after he attends church.  

When I told him he asked where I was going.  I kind of lied because I was going to our sister’s home three hours away and I didn’t want him to feel excluded.  I said, “I am going to visit some friends.”  This was a little true because at this point in our lives my sister and I are friends…really good friends at that.

He then asked as if I was going to get into trouble, “Does Vickie know?”

“Yes,” I answer, “she knows.”

“Well, what is she doing?” He is now hoping she will come here and rescue him from an Easter without family.  I know this is a big deal for Ed. Easter has not been a big deal for me ever since my daughter moved out and I stopped purchasing Peeps.  (She at least had the decency to pretend she believed the Easter Bunny gnawed on the carrots she left for him right up until she moved out.)  Of the twenty years I have lived in the same town as Ed I have missed one Easter.  I did not give him more than a days notice.  He talked for months about how that was the worst day of his year.  So, it is a big deal.

“Vic stays in Steamboat, Ed.  You know that.  She has the grandkids.  They always win,” I say.

He laughs, “Yeah, I guess.”

He called me last Thursday to see what we were going to for Easter.  I reminded him that Kevin and I would not be in town.

“Shit!”  he said, “I forgot.”  Then he asked again, in the same tattling tone, “Does Vickie know?”

So we went to my sisters and had a lovely birthday party for the five-year-old twins on Saturday. I got to tell a story to their exuberant faces that appropriately wore joy and concern and hilarity at all the right moments.

But their parents are navigating a separation (I am just not in the mood to say divorce) and their father took them to Denver right after the party….and thus the Fourth Annual Easter Egg hunt was canceled.  

We had a lovely Easter morning, the sun rising to perfect blue skies as is its job on Easter Morning.  Drank creamed and sugared coffee and caught up on our lives.  We had a glorious breakfast and a walk with the dogs before we headed home. 

I was so disappointed.  

I had a new appreciation for Ed’s need for family tradition, even if Ed isn’t a tenth as cute as five-year-olds searching for eggs.  So my sister took all the candy  meant for the cute egg finders, put it in a pretty tin box and tied it up with ribbon.  We went to his apartment on our way home.

Ed was watching FOX news and they were talking about DOMA.  When he saw us his face lit up so dearly it was darn near as adorable as a five-year old spotting a bright pink egg hidden within foliage.  He was so thrilled.

“I thought you were gone!”  he said.  

I gave him his box and he laughed, “You couldn’t have sprung for a basket, huh?”  But he was so very happy.

The FOX news guys were arguing over each other.  Ed got serious and turned to us, “What do you think about this?”

The guy that I married and I said at the same time, “I don’t think it is any of our business who loves who.”  For a split second I worried this might offend my brother who had supported Nixon when he was nine.  I had no idea where he stood on such things. 

“Me too, what the hell?”  

The man whose name is Kevin noted that FOX news might not be the best news for him to watch considering his thoughts on DOMA.  Ed changed the channel to some movie.

We all ate candy.   We talked about his adventures in church on Easter morning.  It is always an adventure for him because he has to navigate the throngs that only attend on Christmas and Easter.  Ed has no place in his heart for those who clutter the aisles and the pews that are usually clear for him the rest of the year.

He thanked us for making his Easter great, a sentiment he would leave as a phone message later.

We got to the door and the husband said, “The Mass is Ended…”

Ed finished, “Go in peace.”

 

